Books and Breakfast

Today has been one of those lazy days of ours, better enjoy it whilst we can :P We woke up rather late, or late in some peoples eyes, in our eyes... pretty good time :P hehe, we feed all the animals we are looking after, had our breakie, which consisted of crumpets, cereal and milk. Crumpest is something I see as very English, its basically some kind of bread(made from mainly flour and yeast) that looks like, and have the texture of, a sponge. After toasting them thought and cover them in butter that melts in to it, its an rather unhealty and tasty piece of bread :P

File:Buttered crumpet2.jpg

After our breakfast(lunch if you so prefer) We did pretty much NOTHING, William spent some time on the ps3, I read some from my current book(will get back to this soon) and then we decided to walk the dogs, haha :P We really didnt do much of importance today so its hard to try to make it sound interesting, hehe, I cooked a really LOVELY dinner for the both of us. I cooked one of Williams favourites, its a bit hard to explain since i dont have a name for it but what it is; VERY thin sliced beef that i salt and pepper on both sides, I then take a spoon of garlic (non garlic for me today due to my stomach) cream cheese, i place the lump of cream cheese in the middle of the slice of meat before i fold it over and seal it with tooth picks. This then become like som sorta cream cheese cave when you cook it in the ouven for about 7ish mins, depending on how you like your meat, and then, voila! Lovely garlicy cream cheesy meat! With this i make potatoes wedges that i bake/roast/cook in the ouven. What i didnt do this time is a "brown sauce" which is nice to have with it but dont think i had the ingredients for it. Tasted Lovely though. Tonight has been spent with Williams dad John, he rang us at 10pm and asked if we wanted to come around and watch the film "Source code" It was EPIC! see it!



About my book now!

I am reading a book called "marshmallows for breakfast" its written by the incredible author Dorothy Koomson. She is according to me an excellent author that has a special way with ther words. I cant really explain what I feel when i read her things but she can make me want to read anything, just because the way she put things. I am currently on my third book of hers, all her books are different and has nothing to do with each other, what I like though is that she seem to always base the main character on a black, Ghananian or African woman. This is very interesting, because all the women she writes about has so far been completely different people, from different background living different lives, yet they are all from the same herritage. I think (just a guess but..) that every charakter of hers is a piece, or a dream, based on her. For example, the book I am reading now, was published in 2007. It is about a woman who comes back abruptly to england from her two ish years of living in sidney, the author Dorothy recently spent two years living in Sydney Australia, and is now back in England.

Well like i said, I LOVE HER WORK and I am intedning to read all her published books. Two summers ago I read (my first) book from her, i borrowed it from Suzanne and I completley loved it. Last summer, when my friends visited us here in England, we went to the huge book store Waterstones there I bought another 3 of her books.

So far I have read these:
my best friend's girl by dorothy koomson goodnight beautiful by dorothy koomson
These two books are amazing, they are very sad books since they are about either a mother or a child in a dying sitation. The thing is though, if she wouldnt have been so good with words as she is these books would have ben horrible to read, but they are proper page turners. "My best friends girl" deals with difficult issues such as death and adoption whilst "good night beautiful" where one of the main themes of the book is surrogacy. I have actually written an english essay about each of the books so if someone is bored sometime... ;)

I am currently reading:
marshmallows or breakfast by dorothy koomson
Also a very interesting book, it was written during her two year period in australia. It deals with difficult issues such as divorce and hiding from your past, and explores what can happen when you open your heart to complete strangers.

I also got the books:
the chocolate run by dorothy koomson
Which i dont know much about since i havent read them but I am convinced I will like them! :D

I also want to purchase some time:
the cupid effect by dorothy koomsonthe cupid effect by dorothy koomson
Because I want to have read them all, and they both seem very very good imo! :D

If you wanna you can go on her website and read about her and the books. :)


Yesterday we went food shopping with Suzanne, Williams mum, since him and I will be cooking for ourselfs for a while. She went to look at some clothes in a shop next door to the food shop so we started to go through our rather long list on our own at the start. It was quite nice and relaxing, not really being in a rush, stroling through the different aisles just enjoying the moment together. Since my stomach is what it is, as you people now know, i dont think cereal and milk every morning might be the best breakfast for me, I decided to hunt down some oatmeal in the shop! So tomorrow I will be eating oatmeal porridge for breakie, with jam and milk, hopefully that will do this stomach of mine good :) And not to forget, it atually taste good and makes you "last" energy wise for a long time of the day ^^



Its pretty late now, some more book reading and them am "bed ready" :)



Night night

xxx

Fanny


Kommentarer
Postat av: Crystal Metzler

those books sound like good heart books! which i love. i am almost done with "the help" which is a really good book! but when i am done i am reading "heaven is for real" which seems like it will be interesting to read. and i love crumpets with cinnamon sugar butter! mmmmhmmm. and oatmeal is one of my favs for breakfast i either have oatmeal with a whole wheat thin bagel with peanut butter, or a weight watchers smart ones breakfast quesadilla and a banana! lol

2011-08-18 @ 07:23:14
Postat av: Mamma

Vi såg filmen för någon vecka sedan och jag tyckte den var jättebra. Annorlunda. Gott med gröt. Hoppas din mage lugnar ner sig.

Kramar.

2011-08-18 @ 13:53:11

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0